A true friend…

I never wanted to compete with anyone for his love or attention

There have been days when his time with me were so precious

That I just wanted to cherish every second of it with him

 

I never wanted to be called his best friend

I also couldn’t care less for other attention seekers trying to steal him away from me

 

He was always so quiet when questioned

He never demonstrated any signs to anyone of his preferences

or who his favourite was

 

But, Deep inside, I knew

I had a special place in his heart

Reserved just for myself

Or for us both

 

A place where no judgment was allowed or even necessary

Where we could be happy with each other’s company without any nuisance or disturbance

A place where our eyes would constantly meet each other and have long conversations

Without a word being said

 

We knew each other

And we were true friends.

 

Leave a Reply

